Smart Data Governance

The increased integration of smart data technologies in companies’ networks increases productivity, helps to avoid costs and creates completely new business models, but also brings with it new security and data protection threats and challenges which conventional mechanisms cannot meet. Unwanted intrusions, such as data espionage or data manipulation, as well as IT infrastructure attacks carried out by external perpetrators must be prevented – to protect companies themselfs, but also for the sake of data protection in the interest of customers and business contacts.

Also legal IT regulations and even more their lawfull implementation need further clarification. Nevertheless, legal compliance is absolutely essential to ensure that smart data innovations developed by the individual projects can be put into practice without difficulties.

Topics

Security

Digitalization creates many opportunities for businesses and consumers but at the same time they generate challenges that need to be addressed. IT security issues, such as cyber-attacks, identity and personal data thefts pose a big concern to many. Since companies across all industries own important knowledge and data, in case they neglect security measures, they easily become targets of hackers who either want to obtain that information or to compromise a company’s system.

Legal

The constant development of digital technologies brings along legal and ethical concerns. A collective dialogue that brings together members of the civil society, academia, ethic commissions, lawyers and politicians is needed in order to identify a unified code of conduct. Autonomous driving, humanoid robots, drones or face recognition systems are just some examples of areas that need to find their place within the legal framework of any country. Albeit the EU’s GDPR thoroughly regulates data collection and processing EU-wide, actual enforcement needs to be further adressed by governments.

Smart Data Governance

Die verstärkte Integration von Smart-Data-Technologien in die Wertschöpfungsnetzwerke von Unternehmen steigert die Produktivität, senkt Kosten und eröffnet ganz neue Geschäftsmodelle, bringt aber auch neue Bedrohungen und Herausforderungen für Sicherheit und Datenschutz mit sich, die mit herkömmlichen Mechanismen nicht bewältigt werden können. Unerwünschte Eingriffe, wie Datenspionage oder Datenmanipulation, sowie Eingriffe in die IT-Infrastruktur und interne Angriffe müssen verhindert werden – zum Schutz der Unternehmen, aber auch vermehrt zum Datenschutz ihrer Kunden und Partner.

Auch gesetzliche Regulatorien für Smart Data und besonders ihre rechtskonforme Umsetzung bedürfen weiterer Klärung. Dabei ist die Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorschriften notwendig, um sicherzustellen, dass die in den einzelnen Smart-Data-Projekten entwickelten Innovationen problemlos in der Praxis umgesetzt werden können.

 

Die Themen

Sicherheit

Digitalisierung schafft viele Chancen für Unternehmen und Verbraucher, aber gleichzeitig auch Herausforderungen. IT-Sicherheitsthemen wie Cyber-Angriffe, Identitäts- und Datendiebstahl bereiten vielen Nutzern Sorgen. Unternehmen aller Branchen verfügen über wertvolle Daten und Kenntnisse. Gerade wenn sie Sicherheitsmaßnahmen vernachlässigen, werden sie daher zum Ziel von Hackern, die sich diese Informationen beschaffen oder das System eines Unternehmens gefährden wollen.

Rechtlicher Rahmen

Die ständige Weiterentwicklung digitaler Technologien wirft auch neue rechtliche und ethische Fragen auf. Um einen einheitlichen Verhaltenskodex für den Umgang mit neuen Technologien festzulegen, bedarf es eines kollektiven Dialogs, der Mitglieder der Zivilgesellschaft, der Wissenschaft, Ethikkommissionen, Rechtsanwälte und Politiker zusammenbringt. Autonomes Fahren, humanoide Roboter, Drohnen oder Gesichtserkennungssysteme sind nur einige Beispiele für Bereiche, die in den rechtlichen Rahmen jedes Landes eingefügt werden müssen. Obwohl die EU-Datenschutzverordnung (DSGVO) die Datenerhebung und -verarbeitung EU-weit gründlich regelt, müssen Regierungen der tatsächlichen Durchsetzung weiterhin besondere Aufmerksamkeit widmen.